Difference between revisions of "Rinshan kaihou"

From Japanese mahjong wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
m (sp: again Barai -> barai)
m (link kantsu -> link kan)
Line 9: Line 9:
 
|gameExample = [http://tenhou.net/0/?log=2012090616gm-0009-0000-ef78f6ce&tw=1&ts=6] [http://tenhou.net/0/?log=2008121721gm-00c1-0000-fcadb0d7&tw=3&ts=5]
 
|gameExample = [http://tenhou.net/0/?log=2012090616gm-0009-0000-ef78f6ce&tw=1&ts=6] [http://tenhou.net/0/?log=2008121721gm-00c1-0000-fcadb0d7&tw=3&ts=5]
 
}}
 
}}
'''Rinshan kaihou''' (嶺上開花) is a standard yaku, where a player wins with the ''rinshanpai'', i.e., the replacement tile after forming a [[kantsu]].  As such, this yaku is only accessible via [[kan]] calls.
+
'''Rinshan kaihou''' (嶺上開花) is a standard yaku, where a player wins with the ''rinshanpai'', i.e., the replacement tile after forming a [[kan|kantsu]].  As such, this yaku is only accessible via kan calls.
  
 
== Setting up rinshan kaihou ==
 
== Setting up rinshan kaihou ==

Revision as of 01:57, 5 August 2013

Rinshan kaihou
Type Yaku
Kanji 嶺上開花
English Dead wall draw
Value 1 han
Speed Varies
Difficulty Hard
Example(s) [1] [2]
More examples

Rinshan kaihou (嶺上開花) is a standard yaku, where a player wins with the rinshanpai, i.e., the replacement tile after forming a kantsu. As such, this yaku is only accessible via kan calls.

Setting up rinshan kaihou

Like any hand, this yaku requires tenpai to even have a chance of winning. This is particularly true when kan is involved. As such, the fourth tile for kan counts as an extra tile. If that tile is in the hand, it actually takes up one tile space, that could be used for normal hand development.

Rinshan kaihou and haitei

Rinshan kaihou cannot be combined with haitei, a yaku for calling tsumo on the final tile from the live wall. When winning on the replacement tile after a kan, tsumo is not called on any tile from the live wall, but on a tile from the dead wall.

Sekinin barai

Some rule systems impose a liability payment, called sekinin barai or pao, on the discarder of a kanned tile in the event of a rinshan kaihou win.

If this rule is in effect, whenever a player starts his turn by calling kan on a discard, the discarder is liable for the entire price of the caller's hand until end of turn. If the caller calls tsumo on the replacement tile after the daiminkan, payments occur as if he called ron against the liable player. If the caller continues to make ankan or shominkan on the same turn, then wins on a replacement tile, payments again occur like a ron against the liable player. When the caller discards a tile, the discarder of the kanned tile is no longer liable.

External links