Difference between revisions of "Furiten"

From Japanese mahjong wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Furiten in general)
(causes-consequences reformulation)
Line 2: Line 2:
 
'''Furiten''', meaning '''sacred discard''', is a hand status. A player in [[Tenpai|tenpai]] is furiten if he could win on an earlier self-discarded tile, or if he has recently ignored to win by ron. Players in furiten may still win by tsumo, but not by ron.
 
'''Furiten''', meaning '''sacred discard''', is a hand status. A player in [[Tenpai|tenpai]] is furiten if he could win on an earlier self-discarded tile, or if he has recently ignored to win by ron. Players in furiten may still win by tsumo, but not by ron.
  
== Rules ==
+
== Consequences ==
  
A player with a tenpai hand is furiten, as indicated by the [[discard pile]]. Basically furiten subjects a player under these two conditions:
+
Players in furiten may not win by ron, even if they have a yaku. Declaring ron while in furiten is penalized with a [[Chombo|chombo payment]].
  
# Players in furiten may not win by ron, even if they have a yaku. Declaring ron while in furiten is penalized with a [[Chombo|chombo payment]].
+
Players in furiten may still win by tsumo.
# Players in furiten may still win by tsumo.
 
  
The furiten rule does not consider [[yaku]]. Sometimes, a hand can be completed with several tiles, but only some of them provide a yaku, others would produce a yakuless hand. If a yakuless tile appears, it must be ignored, because a winning hand must contain a yaku. The player must remain temporarily furiten.
+
== Causes ==
 +
 
 +
A player in tenpai is furiten if at least one of the conditions listed below applies.
 +
 
 +
=== Discard-based furiten ===
  
=== Furiten in general ===
 
 
{{Discard pile
 
{{Discard pile
 
|align    = right
 
|align    = right
Line 20: Line 22:
 
|source  =
 
|source  =
 
}}
 
}}
A player is furiten, if a winning tile is present in one own's [[discard pile]].  It does not matter whether this tile would have provided a yaku or not. Tiles turned sideways within open melds are considered part of their discarder's discard pile.
+
 
 +
A player is furiten if a winning tile is present in his own's [[discard pile]].  It does not matter whether this tile would have provided a yaku or not. Tiles turned sideways within open melds are considered part of their discarder's discard pile.
  
 
As long as the player has not declared [[Riichi|riichi]], furiten can be avoided by altering the hand and changing [[Machi|tile waits]].
 
As long as the player has not declared [[Riichi|riichi]], furiten can be avoided by altering the hand and changing [[Machi|tile waits]].
Line 26: Line 29:
 
{{#mjt:77m 34567p 678s 777z}}, waiting on {{#mjt:2p}}, {{#mjt:5p}}, or {{#mjt:8p}}
 
{{#mjt:77m 34567p 678s 777z}}, waiting on {{#mjt:2p}}, {{#mjt:5p}}, or {{#mjt:8p}}
  
This hand has three different tiles to wait on. If the player has a 2-pin in his own discard pile, he is furiten and may not win by ron on any tile. Even if a 5-pin or 8-pin gets discarded by an opponent, he may not call ron.
+
This hand waits on three different tiles. If the player has a 2-pin in his own discard pile, he is furiten and may not win by ron on any tile. Even if a 5-pin or 8-pin gets discarded by an opponent, he may not call ron.
  
=== Furiten during riichi ===
+
=== Permanent furiten during riichi ===
 
{{main|Riichi}}
 
{{main|Riichi}}
  
After declaring riichi, the discarded tile immediately after the declaration is turned sideways. The purpose is to indicate, when the player had declared riichi. By rule of riichi, a player is simply waiting for winning tiles after that point.  Any tiles discarded after the riichi declaration are deemed as [[safe tiles]].
+
A riichi declarer may ignore a winning tile and not call ron. The ignored tile may have been a discarded tile or a [[Chankan|tile used to extend a minkou to a shominkan]].
 +
 
 +
After ignoring a winning tile, the riichi declarer is permanently furiten for the rest of the hand.
 +
 
 +
Even if a winning tile different from the ignored one appears, the player may not call ron. This rule requires knowledge of all own [[machi|possible waits]].
 +
 
 +
The idea behind this rule is that all tiles discarded by any player after the riichi declaration are deemed [[genbutsu|safe tiles]]. Riichi declarers may not decline a ron against one player and expect to declare ron against another.
  
So, a riichi declarer is furiten when a chance to call ron has been declined. The ignored winning tile may have been a discarded tile or a [[Chankan|tile used to extend a minkou to a shominkan]].  The player will remain furiten for the rest of the hand and thus cannot call ron on any tile. Furiten applies even, if it is a different tile than the ignored one. This rule requires knowledge of all own [[machi|possible waits]].
+
=== Temporary furiten ===
  
In a sense, this disallows a riichi declarer to be deceptive with regards to winning tiles.  The player could decline ron from one player and expect to declare ron against another player, off of the same time.  Of course, this is against the rule.  So, naturally, during furiten, a declared riichi disallows that style of player.  However, this tactic is acceptable via [[damaten]] or with an open tenpai hand.
+
A tenpai player who has not declared riichi may also ignore a winning tile.
  
=== Turn based furiten ===
+
The player then becomes temporarily furiten until his next own discard. Some rules additionally cancel temporary furiten on any [[naki|tile call]] by any player.
 +
 
 +
The furiten rule does not consider [[yaku]]. Sometimes, a hand can be completed with several tiles, but only some of them provide a yaku, others would produce a yakuless hand. If a yakuless tile appears, it must be ignored, because a winning hand must contain a yaku. The player must remain temporarily furiten.
  
A player may be in furiten temporarily, when a player has a [[tenpai]] hand, without riichi, declined to call ron. Upon doing so, the player is then temporarily furiten until the next draw-discard process.  After making the discard, the player is no longer in furiten.  Some rules additionally cancel temporary furiten on any [[naki|tile call]] by any player.
+
This rule makes it harder to target a specific player with ron, or to ignore a winning tile of lesser value and hope for a tile giving more yaku.
  
 
== Strategy ==
 
== Strategy ==
 +
 +
=== Defense ===
 +
 
{{main|Defense}}
 
{{main|Defense}}
  
Line 47: Line 61:
  
 
===Dealing with furiten===
 
===Dealing with furiten===
Sometimes, it may be necessary to deliberately place the hand in furiten.  Often times, this is the result of developing the hand and defending simultaneously.
 
  
== External links ==
+
Sometimes, it may be necessary to deliberately place the hand in furiten.  Often, this is the result of developing the hand and defending simultaneously.
 +
 
 
[[Category:Terminology]]
 
[[Category:Terminology]]
 
[[Category:Game rules]]
 
[[Category:Game rules]]
 
[[Category:Strategy]]
 
[[Category:Strategy]]

Revision as of 10:46, 26 August 2013

Baiman tenpai, in furiten due to 9-sou in discard. Ron cannot be called here.

Furiten, meaning sacred discard, is a hand status. A player in tenpai is furiten if he could win on an earlier self-discarded tile, or if he has recently ignored to win by ron. Players in furiten may still win by tsumo, but not by ron.

Consequences

Players in furiten may not win by ron, even if they have a yaku. Declaring ron while in furiten is penalized with a chombo payment.

Players in furiten may still win by tsumo.

Causes

A player in tenpai is furiten if at least one of the conditions listed below applies.

Discard-based furiten

Example discard pile
Tile-1s.pngTile-6z.pngTile-5z.pngTile-2z.pngTile-7z.pngTile-7s.png

Tile-2p.pngTile-3p.pngTile-3s.pngTile-6z.pngTile-4s.pngTile-1m.png
Tile-4z.png

A player is furiten if a winning tile is present in his own's discard pile. It does not matter whether this tile would have provided a yaku or not. Tiles turned sideways within open melds are considered part of their discarder's discard pile.

As long as the player has not declared riichi, furiten can be avoided by altering the hand and changing tile waits.

Tile-7m.pngTile-7m.pngTile-3p.pngTile-4p.pngTile-5p.pngTile-6p.pngTile-7p.pngTile-6s.pngTile-7s.pngTile-8s.pngTile-7z.pngTile-7z.pngTile-7z.png, waiting on Tile-2p.png, Tile-5p.png, or Tile-8p.png

This hand waits on three different tiles. If the player has a 2-pin in his own discard pile, he is furiten and may not win by ron on any tile. Even if a 5-pin or 8-pin gets discarded by an opponent, he may not call ron.

Permanent furiten during riichi

A riichi declarer may ignore a winning tile and not call ron. The ignored tile may have been a discarded tile or a tile used to extend a minkou to a shominkan.

After ignoring a winning tile, the riichi declarer is permanently furiten for the rest of the hand.

Even if a winning tile different from the ignored one appears, the player may not call ron. This rule requires knowledge of all own possible waits.

The idea behind this rule is that all tiles discarded by any player after the riichi declaration are deemed safe tiles. Riichi declarers may not decline a ron against one player and expect to declare ron against another.

Temporary furiten

A tenpai player who has not declared riichi may also ignore a winning tile.

The player then becomes temporarily furiten until his next own discard. Some rules additionally cancel temporary furiten on any tile call by any player.

The furiten rule does not consider yaku. Sometimes, a hand can be completed with several tiles, but only some of them provide a yaku, others would produce a yakuless hand. If a yakuless tile appears, it must be ignored, because a winning hand must contain a yaku. The player must remain temporarily furiten.

This rule makes it harder to target a specific player with ron, or to ignore a winning tile of lesser value and hope for a tile giving more yaku.

Strategy

Defense

The furiten rule may be applied for defensive play, which focuses on discarding safe tiles. By discarding tiles that are also visible in an opponent's discard pile, a player can avoid a ron call by that opponent. Likewise, usage of suji and kabe may also help players deduce safe tiles, based on opponent discard. This is applied when a player does not have any matching tiles in the hand with opponent discard; or a player may rather keep certain tiles, for the sake of developing the hand without tearing it apart.

Dealing with furiten

Sometimes, it may be necessary to deliberately place the hand in furiten. Often, this is the result of developing the hand and defending simultaneously.